Game Update #3

So this week we need to have our digital prototype done.  We have something that resembles a game.  It works, just not very well.  I tried to schedule a meeting with the powerhouse, but am  yet to receive confirmation.  I was hoping to get the perspective issues fixed before class, but it looks like we are just going to present our “falling from the sky” game.  Ugh! I really want to get this game looking like it should, I just don’t know how to do it and every time I research something it is in AS1, or just something that I don’t understand.  Without help from the powerhouse, I have done almost all that I can as far as the code for this game goes.  I think we took a big risk going for the head tracking on this game, and it turned out okay, but that alone doesn’t make it a good game.  I would really like to see this game become more detailed and advanced.  Not having taken a Flash course before this really makes things difficult.  I feel that this project would work really well if we were paired with someone from a Flash class.  We could design it, and they could code it.  Since this is a more design based class, that would seem to be more appropriate.  Still, given the skill sets and time restraints that our group had, I think that so far we have produced a decent product.

… I mean… the game works, right?!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brandon Buller on November 29, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    I understand the frustration. The amount of Flash experience in the class as a whole is pretty small. All in all, though, we are doing pretty well as a class who knows little to nothing about programming in AS 3.0. If you guys can get the head stuff to work, you have my vote as the coolest concept. If not, then at least you tried!

    Reply

  2. I think we’ve all had at least some frustration of not being able to make our games like we want to. And I definitely agree – working with someone from a Flash class would be awesome! We were able to find code and tutorials for a lot of what we wanted to do, but none of it worked right. If it wasn’t for the guys at the digital corps helping us tweak the code, we never would have been able to get a working game.

    Reply

  3. I’m excited to see how everything turns out! your game always seemed to have a great potential.

    Reply

  4. Dude, don’t fret! I know the last couple of weeks have been rough, but it will all come together here in the next few days. I think it’s safe to say that we have done A+ work with the prior skills we had. And dude, seriously…you are rocking the Actionscript. I know Kaitlan and I couldn’t have done this project without ya. You are genius with that Actionscript. Seems like you devour Actionscript like Alphabits for breakfast. Just wanted to let you know that it has been such a privilege working with you on this project this semester. We’ll get this thing wrapped up in the next few days and never have to worry about designing another Flash game (or at least designing any other Flash game without instruction). Keep up the great work, I’ll be sending you the rest of my graphics here in the next day or so, we’ll get those plopped in, and we’ll be done!!! Hallelujah!

    Reply

  5. Kyle, you are waaaaay too nice. But, it is much appreciated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

