As Real As Your Life…

This week we were assigned to watch and blog about this video.  My ramblings and nonsensical ideas are as follows:

I used to be what some would consider a “hardcore gamer.”  The idea of video games being able to affect someone emotionally and being what most would call “addicted” is not new to me.  I can remember plenty of nights where the pull of the game grabbed me and I found myself spending nights playing rather than sleeping.  Michael says that sleepless nights don’t necessarily mean that you are addicted, and I would agree.  It’s the life altering experiences in virtual space that determine one’s addiction.  I can say that I met people and formed relationships that I never would have otherwise formed due to games, and that games have changed my vocabulary and verbal dexterity, but I don’t think that I would go as far as saying reality and the virtual world blended together for me as it did for Michael (however, there is some part of me that would say otherwise).  I felt as though when I sat down to play a game, I was aware of what I was getting myself into.  I knew that it wasn’t reality and although games took up about as much of my day as reality did, and I sometimes chose games over reality, I could keep the two separated.  Virtual reality had me in it’s clutches, but they were transparent (if that makes sense at all).

The reason that video games can be so addictive is because they seem so familiar to  you, and you let yourself give in to them.  You sit there and accept the rules and the facts that the game tells you.  You give in to it’s reality and willingly accept it’s truths because it’s comfortable.  These days, the technology in video games allows for overlap in stimuli.  We follow the same laws of physics, in the same cities, and do the same things we do in real life… only virtually.  It is so easy to just sit and play.

I’m not sure what will happen in the future, but I think that future generations growing up constantly exposed to this stimuli gives room for possibilities for great things to come from video games.  They could be very beneficial and be used to improve cognitive skills, creativity, and physical skills such has hand-eye coordination and overall health.

(random thought) For some reason, the end of this video reminded me of the Matrix.  Michael feels that everything is so real and enveloping.  He says that he just has to remember that in the end, he has to be able to unplug.  This is an almost direct comparison to the Matrix, in that everything in the Matrix has the stimuli of reality, but it’s not real.  Reality only occurs when you are “unplugged.”

One response to this post.

  1. […] Read the rest of his post here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

